feet up – both legs 1 and 2 – and an early NPO submission

24 Jan

164113_10150125630175663_691615662_8071576_7151122_n

OK so I am not being totally lazy, and to bring you up to speed with what has been happening over the last few weeks.

Primarily I have been dealing with 2 things – not just legs one and two, but the reality that has been the NPO application and an op on my knees.  What on earth is that? I hear you cry. An NPO? Well in a nutshell all arts organisations in the country, big and small, local and national and across all artforms have had to submit an application to become a National Portfolio Organisation that Arts Council England will then support as part of their delivery of Great Art for Everyone vision. The deadline was 10am this morning January 24th.

So like all other organisations here at Pilot Theatre we too have been putting ours in place over the last 2 months. This has meant meeting lots of people, having many conversations and making lots of plans for our programme of work up until 2015. So our three year vision plan with associated budgets and details. So yes a good deal of work. The good news is that all of us will find out by the end of March whether or not we are in or out of the portfolio. So not a long period of time to wait. The other good news is that many organisations have been really open and have been sharing their ideas and plans with us, which in the prevailing funding climate, is absolutely vital. We are actually all in this together, and we are charged with using public money as effectively, creatively and to be as artistically inventive as possible.

So we will let you know how things turn out

In other, other news, may I recommend that you don’t ever jump into a swimming pool feet first without first checking the depth…How was I to know it was only 1 metre deep? There were no signs. Anyway if you do, be assured that if you do, you may smash both knee cartilages at the same time at the same point (medial meniscus tears for my medical friends…)

The upshot of all this is that last Thursday I had these repaired. Which meant that our NPO went in before that, so our deadline was brought forward in a way because of my own stupidity of jumping into a pool on day one of my holiday. Bed rest, physio and walking are now on the menu. As well as being able to catch uo with this blog which has been slightly dormant during the last few weeks of aforementioned activity.

In other, other, other news, we decided to Wordle our NPO and it is a really interesting snapshot of the application. Others too have also done this. I am at present thinking of a good place to share these. I will certainly talk about it at my presentation at the State of the Arts Conference on Feb 10th, which reminds me I have some notes and plans to make for that now.

We are heading off to open Romeo and Juliet at The Unicorn next week, as it sets out on the tour until April. If any of you are around drop in and say hi, but please don’t trip me up as I am still a bit unsteady on my pins…

Til later

Mx

 

Leave a Reply

