A large Americano – to go #SXSW #TED

27 Feb

> > >

Photo

The journey starts, as it always should with a large Americano. It seems appropriate given the trip I am about to take.

At Manchester Airport on time courtesy of ‘Tony Way to Travel’ and through check in and security in less than ten minutes which is unheard of. Must do more 6 o’clock starts on Sundays…
I am flying today to the start of the TED conference in California – and heading to it via Chicago and Dallas. I am really looking forward to being back there again as it is four years since I was last there. It was an informative and inspiring experience that led me to start the whole Shift Happens Conference programme that Pilot Theatre have run for the last 3 years.

So back again to meet and hear and hook up with speakers and ideas and new networks. I will also be looking for potential contributors and collaborators for our future Shift Happens and TEDxYork programme.

After TED I am heading off to meet the ACE delegation of Creative Producers in Austin Texas, where I have also been invited to attend South by Southwest (sxsw) with them.
This again is a gathering of people from across the world looking at technology, interactivity, film, media and live performance. I have managed to set up some meetings with fellow theatre directors and others – and indeed if people want to meet up just drop me a message on my twitter feed (I am @marcusromer) and we can try and connect whilst I am either at TED or SXSW. I will be sharing the findings from both events here on this blog, and will post links and info for you to share with your networks on here as well.

It does feel like the start of an enormous adventure, and I am very fortunate to have been invited to both events.
I will keep you posted

Til later

Marcus  / halfway down the cup of coffee now at Manchester Airport
x

Leave a Reply

