It all started at The Chelsea Hotel in New York in 2008 #TKTKM #shifthappens

9 Apr

100_3011

A photo of the stairwell of The Chelsea Hotel in NYC that I took in 2008…

The backstory…

I was staying here in May 2008. I had gone to New York to meet The NewYork Metropolitan Opera company and their team responsible for their work going into Cinemas.
 
I was fascinated to know more and to learn about the project.

I met Julie Borchard-Young who was running the whole project and managed to persuade her to come over to speak at our first Shift Happens event in York.

She did come over and she spoke in York. The NT were at that first Shift Happens event.

Julie Borchard-Young now runs all the NT Live programme, and all global cinema…with her company called By Experience.

This trip to New York gave me the confidence to think we could do things at Pilot Theatre too.

Big things…

To think big and to do things that were outside our existing remit.

In other words to make Shift Happen

On the flight over I started reading a novel.  I read it on the plane,  I couldn’t put it down.

The book was called The Knife That Killed Me…

When I get to the Chelsea Hotel in New York  I emailed the publishers. I got hold of the agent.

I said that I wanted to adapt it for the cinema.

They said we needed to meet.

I met the agents and the author Anthony McGowan on my return to London.

Working with images and ideas with Kit Monkman in the autumn of 2008

I wrote the first draft and submitted it to the agents in January 2009.

I submitted it to our Producers at the same time.

We made adaptations to the first draft, the script evolved

We have  had draft 8 approved

We have developed the project and secured funding for this

We have a major distributor on board

We start shooting the movie on April 10th 2012

It does take time. but it is possible to make Shift Happen.

It can be about being in the right place at the right time

But most of all it is about persevering, and refusing to give up.

That process starts again for me tomorrow when we step onto the floor to direct this…

more to follow…

#TKTKM

Leave a Reply

